Assessment and Accountability » English Language Development

English Language Development

English Language Development

English Learner Proficiency Assessment of California (ELPAC)

What is the ELPAC?
The ELPAC, or English Language Proficiency Assessments for California, is the state’s English language proficiency test for students whose primary language is other than English. The ELPAC helps to identify students who need help in learning English, so they can get the language support they need to do well in school and access the full curriculum. Every year, students who are English learners take the ELPAC to measure their progress in learning English.

The ELPAC is administered at these grades/grade spans:
■ Kindergarten
■ Grade one (1)
■ Grade two (2)
■ Grades three through five (3–5)
■ Grades six through eight (6–8)
■ Grades nine and ten (9–10)
■ Grades eleven and twelve (11–12)

All grades/grade spans have test questions in four different domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing. The Speaking test questions are administered one-on-one by a Test Examiner at all grades/grade spans. At kindergarten and grade 1, all test questions are administered one-on-one by a Test Examiner. At grades 2–12, Listening, Reading, and Writing sections are administered to groups of students.State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of English language proficiency (ELP) to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve.

The California Department of Education (CDE) transitioned from the CELDT to the ELPAC as the state ELP assessment in 2018. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It is comprised of two separate ELP assessments: the "Initial ELPAC" is given only once at the beginning of a student's tenure in the Calfornia school system in order to identify students who need additional help in learning English; the "Summative ELPAC"  is administered annually to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's current level of ELP.

 Parent Guide to ELPAC